Horrible lag, need sum1 good with computers

This is a discussion on Horrible lag, need sum1 good with computers within the General Chat board part of the General category; Time of this report: 4/25/2009, 17:07:06 Machine name: YOUR-D0F670B45A Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    volunteerswine is offline Wannabe Member
    Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9
    Reputation
    6

    Horrible lag, need sum1 good with computers

    Time of this report: 4/25/2009, 17:07:06
    Machine name: YOUR-D0F670B45A
    Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.090206-1234)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: Compaq Presario 061
    System Model: ER919AA-ABA SR1820NX NA620
    BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3400+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.2GHz
    Memory: 446MB RAM
    Page File: 517MB used, 536MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.090


    i want to buy some new ram from Newegg but im not sure which ones are compatible and which one's arent :/
    the current set im looking at is at newegg
    crucial Ballistix 4GB (2 x 2G 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory




    is that good or not? i really know basically nothing about computers, i was just told that i need more ram

  2. #2
    wtfdudes's Avatar
    wtfdudes is offline Hacker
    Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9
    Reputation
    90
    If you tend to overclock your comp, I'd recommend you to get DDR3, since they are able to have more clock rate. Whilst the top of DDR2 is 533Mhz by default. As far as I know nearly every RAM is compatible with any comp.
    With 4GB, you won't be able to fully utilize you RAM at all. But for future comps you can easily build them in. In my opinion you can buy it, it's definitely enough for gaming purposes.

    By the way, what's your graphic card, as it could be the cause of your lag too?
    Last edited by wtfdudes; 04-26-2009 at 07:54 PM.


  3. #3
    Serverman's Avatar
    Serverman is offline Paranoia!

    Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3,487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    16
    Reputation
    1301
    Wtfdudes, that is wrong.. Getting a compitable ram card can be a real pain in the arse.ru
    Also i see that you run XP. I belive xp is only compitable with 2 gigs of ram
    My car is not leaking oil?
    Its marking its territory!

  4. #4
    wtfdudes's Avatar
    wtfdudes is offline Hacker
    Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9
    Reputation
    90
    Yeah, I'm sorry. My RAMs I've chosen the last few times were always fitting. Lucky bastard Probably because of the motherboards I've chosen so far.
    Quote Originally Posted by Serverman View Post
    I belive xp is only compitable with 2 gigs of ram
    That's wrong
    Doesn't have do to anything with the OS you use. It's all about your mobo you are using. As for me, mine is compatible having 8GB max.
    After searching for your RAM, I've found out that crucial has a service finding a compatible RAM for your motherboard.
    SDRAM, DDR2 and DDR RAM memory upgrades from Crucial.com


  5. #5
    Serverman's Avatar
    Serverman is offline Paranoia!

    Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3,487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    16
    Reputation
    1301
    maximum amount of ram on 32bit OS is 4GB
    Memory Limits for Windows Releases (Windows)
    Althogh we dont know what version of XP he has
    My car is not leaking oil?
    Its marking its territory!

  6. #6
    volunteerswine is offline Wannabe Member
    Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9
    Reputation
    6
    well my graphics card is an Nvidia something, from what gm's have told me its pretty low grade, so i just hold my video settings as low as they go. And yea i have no idea what windows im running, i think 4gb is the most i can have though.

  7. #7
    Volund's Avatar
    Volund is offline Banned

    Array
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    in my own pants...
    Posts
    5,090
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    19
    Reputation
    1484
    ug, compaq's are always a pita to upgrade.

    I'll look around for you, but the RAM is almost certainly either DDR or DDR2.

    The model number is Presario 061 correct?

  8. #8
    volunteerswine is offline Wannabe Member
    Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9
    Reputation
    6
    i believe so yea, at least thats what dxdiag is telling me

  9. #9
    Volund's Avatar
    Volund is offline Banned

    Array
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    in my own pants...
    Posts
    5,090
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    19
    Reputation
    1484
    OK, please download Belarc Adviser and post back here with the info on the RAM.

    I'll point you to the right ram once I have that info.

  10. #10
    volunteerswine is offline Wannabe Member
    Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9
    Reputation
    6
    sorry for not replying in a long time, vacations happen

    file:///C:/Program%20Files/Belarc/Advisor/System/tmp/(Your-d0f670b45a).html
    Last edited by volunteerswine; 05-17-2009 at 03:33 PM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. My orc FAQ
    By 4skiLLiFighT in forum Warcraft 3 Strategies
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-06-2009, 03:18 AM
  2. Evolution of Viruses
    By risker in forum Internet Guides
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-29-2008, 07:51 AM
  3. WoW Grind Guide
    By blablabla in forum WoW Guides
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-06-2008, 02:16 AM
  4. [Guide] Complete CS:S Mouse Optimization Guide
    By Visionary in forum CS Guides
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-20-2008, 07:28 PM
  5. UD FFA Strategy :)
    By io[DressA] in forum Warcraft 3 Strategies
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-06-2008, 08:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •