Question about PS3

This is a discussion on Question about PS3 within the General Chat board part of the General category; I couldn't find a ps3 subforum, I thought there was one ? Anyways, I'm getting a ps3 sent to me, ...

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Ryan's Avatar
    Ryan is offline Ubiquitous


    Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    6,966
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    26
    Reputation
    2758

    Question about PS3

    I couldn't find a ps3 subforum, I thought there was one ?

    Anyways, I'm getting a ps3 sent to me, and I was starting to realize my friends can't play their ps2 games on it. Well that's not an issue that much, but I still play to this day GTA San Andreas. I mean, I don't wanna have to unplug the ps3 and plug in the ps3 whenever I want to play San Andreas. Is there like a way to mod it to play iso files ? Cause that way I can copy the disk to my comp, and edit the files with mods for like cars and new gangs and new weapons, then make it all in one iso file.
    Any ideas ?



  2. #2
    ItzNitro's Avatar
    ItzNitro is offline Advanced Hacker
    Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Durkadurkastan
    Posts
    419
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    6
    Reputation
    135
    My PS3 can play PS2 games...it always has...

    Which model have you ordered?

  3. #3
    Ryan's Avatar
    Ryan is offline Ubiquitous


    Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    6,966
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    26
    Reputation
    2758
    My mom ordered it for me for christmas, so I will find out within a week or two. But my question still stands for being to play ISO files with a mod or something, so I can mod GTA and play it, kind of like how you can mod the PC version's ISO


  4. #4
    ItzNitro's Avatar
    ItzNitro is offline Advanced Hacker
    Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Durkadurkastan
    Posts
    419
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    6
    Reputation
    135
    I'm sure you can play hacked ISOs on a PS3, though I think it requires jailbreaking...

    I'll try find that out for ya.

  5. #5
    Ryan's Avatar
    Ryan is offline Ubiquitous


    Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    6,966
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    26
    Reputation
    2758
    Yeah I've done a "little"researching and saw something called "Swap Magic" that lets you play "Backups" so that might be an option, but Im not sure. All the PS3 hackin sites I went to ... well they all sucked


  6. #6
    Kevin is offline guy

    Array
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,078
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Reputation
    724
    Quote Originally Posted by Ryan View Post
    My mom ordered it for me for christmas, so I will find out within a week or two. But my question still stands for being to play ISO files with a mod or something, so I can mod GTA and play it, kind of like how you can mod the PC version's ISO
    ur m0m, leul kiddei

  7. #7
    Ryan's Avatar
    Ryan is offline Ubiquitous


    Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    6,966
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    26
    Reputation
    2758
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin View Post
    ur m0m, leul kiddei
    kay .. knee grow .. ef you
    Ha, seriously though, I was wondering if its possible ? I mean, I dont mind stickin to Assasins Creed and Red Dead


  8. #8
    <GM>Bumblebee's Avatar
    <GM>Bumblebee is offline I'm The Good Bee :)



    Array
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Palmdale,CA
    Posts
    1,912
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    12
    Reputation
    1146
    Possibly the other operating system option could play ps2 games? idk i know it can do linux but the ps3 is not my expertise because i haven't modded mine at all id ask hend he knows about it.

    Click here To see all my Tutorials and get Help.

  9. #9
    Ryan's Avatar
    Ryan is offline Ubiquitous


    Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    6,966
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    26
    Reputation
    2758
    Oh, I didnt know Hend did ... I'll talk to him


  10. #10
    ItzNitro's Avatar
    ItzNitro is offline Advanced Hacker
    Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Durkadurkastan
    Posts
    419
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    6
    Reputation
    135
    I think it's a model-related issue. I know for sure that the original PS3s can definitely play PS2 games. I'm sure that the slim versions can't and I know that some fat models can't (like the 20GB HDD version).

    I've got the original one and that plays PS2 games...

Similar Threads

  1. Just a question
    By fogest in forum General Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-12-2009, 04:20 AM
  2. sig question
    By quantum in forum Warcraft 3 forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-17-2007, 03:14 AM
  3. I have a question...
    By The Pope in forum General Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-11-2007, 11:45 PM
  4. Uh...Question!
    By TheShAdOw981 in forum Warcraft 3 forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-04-2007, 10:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •