hey
quick intro: Canadian Newfoundlander stuck on the mainland... typical geek with a touch of dork - got a few years of experience in electrical engineering, double that in computers and hardware/software management - total noob when it comes to programming/scripting - neither noob nor 1337 when it comes to gaming... laid back, enjoy a good laugh, good drink, good game... joined this forum cause nearly every google search ive done in the last 3 weeks has referenced it but without an account i cant see or do much...

been working on wow and wotlk specifically trying to get my own little server goin for me my family and my circle of friends....

so here I am sick of all the crap private servers out there - recently played one that started out cool but had a donor system going that got you in game gear and bonuses... a devide spread between donors and non donors and the sense of community quickly fell away... a bloddy shame too!

anyway, i've now decided to be my own boss and run my own server - needs tweaking but the general idea is gonna be to make our own mini expansions... using db management and editing tools, im working on creating my own string of quests that will provide start middle and end to a characters story. further more, with detailed character bios it will be easy to get into wotlk and wow in general in ways never before explored... im taking RP-ing to a new level...

problem is like my topic implies, absolute noob...
im running R3Vzone's front end V3 repack of mangos
my current details are YTDB-098-r481-rev7594
i was able to get online and get in game, server commands work and I have a few accounts going - we can get in from behind my router and from the outside world no problem - its the database and script stuff mostly that I need help with ... assuming that helps anyone narrow things down...

anyway, I'm having a really hard time doing even simple things
a) adding my own custom items, like a GIANT bag with a ton of slots
b) creating chain quests