Problems with hosting ?

This is a discussion on Problems with hosting ? within the Warcraft 3 forum board part of the Hot Games category; Hello, I've got a problem with hosting, but it isn't as you may think the usual firewall or what so ...

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Coyllur is offline Newbie
    Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    0

    Problems with hosting ?

    Hello,
    I've got a problem with hosting, but it isn't as you may think the usual firewall or what so ever problem. While I am able to host a game called "Can I host?" with a simple warcraft map, with people joining and saying "Yes u can", when I create a game with a downloaded map like Wintermaul, nobody joins, except if I ask my friend to type the exact name in the search tool.
    The problem seems to be that the game isn't shown in the list when using a edited map.



    I hope somebody has understood what I am trying to explain and that there is a solution to that. Or at least I hope that somebody else has the same problem…
    Last edited by Coyllur; 03-24-2010 at 11:24 PM.

  2. #2
    Mike's Avatar
    Mike is offline Master of Hell

    Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Hell
    Posts
    1,575
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Reputation
    1287
    Most likely people just don't want to play Wintermaul. Try hosting another map.

  3. #3
    Coyllur is offline Newbie
    Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    0
    It was just an example ^^ But I don't think it has anything to do with that, because when I ask my friend to look if the game is shown in the list, he says he can't see it. And I don't think it has anything to do with refreshing…

  4. #4
    Mike's Avatar
    Mike is offline Master of Hell

    Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Hell
    Posts
    1,575
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Reputation
    1287
    Are your ports forwarded correctly?

  5. #5
    Coyllur is offline Newbie
    Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    0
    Well I don't really know how to control if they are forwarded CORRECTLY... But I don't know why there should be a problem if my friend is able to play... (of course just if he searches the exact name…)

  6. #6
    Mike's Avatar
    Mike is offline Master of Hell

    Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Hell
    Posts
    1,575
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Reputation
    1287
    Well, just try port forwarding I guess. :/
    PortForward.com - Port Forwarding Guides Listed by Manufacturer and Model
    Choose your router off this list then select WC3

  7. #7
    undead_warrior is offline Geek
    Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    787
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    10
    Reputation
    270
    Well sometimes the game name doesn't show on the list, and you have to be patient and refreshing every 10 seconds. And i don't think it matters if you used the edit map. I think becuase the game list only shows #s of games that was just made by players. (20 games for each time it's refreshes) and if your game appear as #21 then it will not shows. That's what i think. And it's also depends on the internet connection, the higher the bandwidth will dominate the slower one and the game will push back a little bit, That's why players experiencing delay in game as well as in the lobby.
    Or check your portforwarding, like Coldfire had said. Or try to host a game that Players knew how to play such as x hero, footmen, or dota. Hope, that helps

  8. #8
    killerwave7's Avatar
    killerwave7 is offline Premium Member

    Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    705
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    10
    Reputation
    392
    try inviting him to an AT game, im not sure but i think thats one way of testing to see if your ports are fine

    Here are a couple guides that might help you learn a few things as well:

    By Hendricius: http://www.d3scene.com/forum/warcraf...ing-ports.html
    By Archimonde: Hosting on Warcraft III for Windows

Similar Threads

  1. Hosting
    By targe0 in forum Warcraft 3 forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-15-2010, 10:01 AM
  2. Hosting problems
    By whatams in forum Warcraft 3 forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-15-2010, 07:02 AM
  3. I am having problems hosting.
    By bomber in forum WoW Private Servers
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-27-2008, 02:19 AM
  4. Using 2 comps on WC3 -- problems hosting
    By Capaburro in forum Warcraft 3 forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-23-2007, 12:46 AM
  5. Hosting Problems
    By hendricius in forum Rules/Announcements
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-22-2007, 03:51 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •