How to "sign" or "valid" a custom map like Blizzard does?

This is a discussion on How to "sign" or "valid" a custom map like Blizzard does? within the Warcraft 3 forum board part of the Hot Games category; Hello everyone, I've been wandering around in the shoes of a guest but now as a member. Though I'm coming ...

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Niwre is offline Newbie
    Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    5
    Reputation
    1

    How to "sign" or "valid" a custom map like Blizzard does?

    Hello everyone,



    I've been wandering around in the shoes of a guest but now as a member.
    Though I'm coming up with a question I would love to know the answer of if anyone knows it.

    I am currently trying to "sign" custom maps as Blizzard maps.
    This is needed for using them in certain parts on battle.net.

    If someone is familiar about how to sign a map, please let me know since I have been searching a lot about how to do it.
    Please not that just saving a custom map with the World Editor is not enough.

    Thanks in advance, happy gaming.

  2. #2
    Beaving's Avatar
    Beaving is offline Терпение, мой друг





    Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    628
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Reputation
    1126
    I can only guess, but they probaly have the hashes of the maps stored somewhere and they compare the maps with the list of hashes, or there is some flag set in the map itself.
    If you need to bypass the check for some private server, I have already done that and can assist you with it if you wish.
    Last edited by Beaving; 06-16-2013 at 05:16 PM.

  3. #3
    Niwre is offline Newbie
    Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    5
    Reputation
    1
    It is actually for using it in a private server indeed.
    I am attempting to set up an alternate battle.net server with different maps for the ladder section but because the flag fails for custom maps I keep failing to make it playable and my experience in that section is not high enough to figure out how to do so.

    I would appreciate your help if you could assist me with it.
    Please PM me with further instructions if you want and if you can.
    I do have some coding experience, if that helps.

    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Beaving's Avatar
    Beaving is offline Терпение, мой друг





    Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    628
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Reputation
    1126
    You would need to modificate every client's game process in order to do that, of course. As you have a private server, you do that anyway so that shouldn't be the problem. I fixed the problem for the very same reason as you, and you can do that by nopping (0x90) 2 bytes @ game.dl+0x56793f. This will essentially disable the corruption check for non Blizzard maps on the ladder.

  5. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Beaving For This Useful Post:


  6. #5
    Niwre is offline Newbie
    Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    5
    Reputation
    1
    Thank you for the response.
    I will do an attempt to do the changes.

    Could you also explain how the signatures work?
    Just out of interest .

    Edit: I am kinda failing about doing the edits.
    Could you give a small explanation how to do this?
    Last edited by Niwre; 06-16-2013 at 08:25 PM.

  7. #6
    Beaving's Avatar
    Beaving is offline Терпение, мой друг





    Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    628
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Reputation
    1126
    I said that I don't know how the signatures work
    About the modification, in C you would use a direct memory edit with a DLL, but a WriteProcessMemory call is sufficient.
    WriteProcessMemory(process, (DWORD)GetModuleHandle("game")+0x56793f, "\x90\x90", 2, NULL)
    should do the trick.
    Last edited by Beaving; 06-16-2013 at 08:45 PM.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Beaving For This Useful Post:


  9. #7
    Niwre is offline Newbie
    Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    5
    Reputation
    1
    So after a while I actually found a way how to do it through your method.
    Thanks for that, Beaving.

    There is however, another issue now.
    When we both find a ladder map (custom ladder map) the game won't start and the searching eye will cancel 5-10 seconds after turning gray when the game is found and will cancel the launch of the map.
    Any experience with this?

    Once again, thank you.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Niwre For This Useful Post:


  11. #8
    Beaving's Avatar
    Beaving is offline Терпение, мой друг





    Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    628
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Reputation
    1126
    Nope, I don't have a clue. Probaly some bug with your server code

  12. #9
    Niwre is offline Newbie
    Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    5
    Reputation
    1
    Hmm I was thinking.
    Perhaps it requires to be also inside the War3x.mpq.

    I need to test this.

Similar Threads

  1. [Protoss] How to "Rush" Without fully "Rushing"
    By Feymania in forum Starcraft 2 Guides
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-10-2010, 11:00 AM
  2. "Balloon Boy" Falcon Henne Admits: "We Did This For The Show"
    By Dolph_Lundgren in forum Entertainment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-17-2009, 01:40 AM
  3. how to make "aliens"/"UFO" [real life hack]
    By 35yeros in forum Real Life Hacks
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-19-2008, 05:04 PM
  4. [Release] "Wolpertinger" -> "Blood Elf Guitarist"
    By Xerxes in forum WoW Modelchanging
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-13-2008, 12:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •