Hosting on Warcraft III for Windows

This is a discussion on Hosting on Warcraft III for Windows within the Warcraft 3 forum board part of the Hot Games category; Hosting for Warcraft III RoC and TFT on Windows By Archimonde Difference Between TCP and UDP. TCP is for ports ...

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 54
  1. #1
    Archimonde's Avatar
    Archimonde is offline Wise Man Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    o_O
    Posts
    240
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    333

    Hosting on Warcraft III for Windows

    Hosting for Warcraft III RoC and TFT on Windows
    By Archimonde

    Difference Between TCP and UDP.

    TCP is for ports where your connection receives an answer from the other computer that the package was completely sent. UDP is for connections where the programs are just fire out one after each other with no need of receiving a response. For warcraft 3 you will have to open UDP ports. However if you keep getting lags I recommend you to open the port UDP and TCP.

    Note: all of these hosting apply for wireless and non-wireless, and are easy to access and use. For other Router applicants use cheapcomputerparts.us. (its just titled computer parts, but is portforward.com) Click "guides", then "Port forwarding guides by router", then select your modem, and after, click "warcraft III", and you will be taken to the correct guide.
    • Direct Cable
    • Router
    • Support System
    Direct Cable [No Router/Modem]
    If you are at direct cable, you will be able to host by simply turning off your firewall or allowing wc3 through, as shown:
    This Window can be accessed by going from Start -> To Control Panel -> then Firewall.





    For Router
    If you haven't already tried hosting, that means your router is buff. First, ask the network administrator to set a password so someone else on your wireless/internet isn't able to access your router settings. (You need to be connected to your router to access it.) The following below shows my D-LINK modem being programmed to be able to host.

    [1] First, Find your Default Gateway:

    [2] Second, enter your Default gateway IP in the browser and you will come up to some access screen. For my D-LINK, it is an orange screen:
    Type "admin" as the user and password is usually left blank.

    [3] Third, Click "advanced" and type as shown:


    Remember to type your IP, I just left it blank to not give out information. and enable it. If you want to be able to host custom AND invite, be sure to use ports 6112-6119, otherwise it is 6113-6119, which isn't much of a difference. Please realize if you have bad connection as it is, you will not be able to host custom games very well and it WILL lag.
    Last edited by Archimonde; 12-17-2007 at 02:01 PM.

  2. #2
    hendricius's Avatar
    hendricius is offline Administrator

    Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Goettingen, Germany
    Posts
    6,311
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    24
    Reputation
    2180
    Good guide. You should include portforward.com :-).
    You suck. Suck a little less and become a fan on Facebook.

    "D3scene pwns" - Hendrik (PIRATE)

  3. #3
    Archimonde's Avatar
    Archimonde is offline Wise Man Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    o_O
    Posts
    240
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    333
    Quote Originally Posted by hendricius View Post
    Good guide. You should include portforward.com :-).
    First Paragraph ^_^

  4. #4
    Zyphrus's Avatar
    Zyphrus is offline zMapper
    Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Dude, where's my location?
    Posts
    926
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    12
    Reputation
    215
    Nice guide, although I can host already +Rep.

  5. #5
    Archimonde's Avatar
    Archimonde is offline Wise Man Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    o_O
    Posts
    240
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    333
    Thank you.

  6. #6
    hendricius's Avatar
    hendricius is offline Administrator

    Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Goettingen, Germany
    Posts
    6,311
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    24
    Reputation
    2180
    Thanks very much man . This is a great contribution
    You suck. Suck a little less and become a fan on Facebook.

    "D3scene pwns" - Hendrik (PIRATE)

  7. #7
    SharkMe's Avatar
    SharkMe is offline Member
    Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    0
    an ask, we must pust TCP and UDP ports or just TCP?
    Code:
    SharkMe ---> a high kind of players !!!
    
    Piensa en Verde !! Clan HerB ... northern!

  8. #8
    hendricius's Avatar
    hendricius is offline Administrator

    Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Goettingen, Germany
    Posts
    6,311
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    24
    Reputation
    2180
    TCP is for ports where your connection receives an answer from the other computer that the package was completely sent. UDP is for connections where the programs are just fire out one after each other with no need of receiving a response. For warcraft 3 you will have to open UDP ports. However if you keep getting lags I recommend you to open the port UDP and TCP.

    Nice updates on the guide :-). You might want to use my above written text to explain the difference between UDP and TCP ports ^^.
    You suck. Suck a little less and become a fan on Facebook.

    "D3scene pwns" - Hendrik (PIRATE)

  9. #9
    PitLorD's Avatar
    PitLorD is offline Member
    Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    10
    Reputation
    53
    Great Guide, Thanks Arch.

  10. #10
    acidJUNKY is offline Newbie
    Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    0

    :(

    thanks for posting up the guide. i followed it up to the point of entering my IP into the address bar and being taken to that site

    at that site (D-link for me) i went to the advanced option. this is where it went wrong

    there was no windo or layout like in your guide where i could put in ports etc.. just a bunch of letters mixed wth numbers

    eg
    Pvc0 -- they then had a check box next to them.

    the only different 1 was at the start; it was a check box with 'enable UPnP' next to it

    not known what these did i didnt check anything. i was wondering if you could help me?

    thanks very much dude.

    "in the depth of every dark corner lerks an acidJUNKY"
    Last edited by acidJUNKY; 12-21-2007 at 04:30 PM.

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Warcraft III Total Guide
    By Archimonde in forum Warcraft 3 forum
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 03-19-2012, 11:57 PM
  2. a game made after warcraft 2
    By jphix in forum Warcraft 3 forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-03-2009, 07:28 PM
  3. Grant system privileges - PID Fix.
    By hendricius in forum Warcraft 3 forum
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-18-2009, 09:05 AM
  4. WoW Twink Guide(Almost All Class)
    By Pizi in forum WoW Guides
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-16-2008, 08:52 PM
  5. Application : warcraft III mod
    By Range in forum Application Board
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 06-20-2007, 01:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •