How to set up a wow private server and making it public

This is a discussion on How to set up a wow private server and making it public within the WoW Private Server Emulation board part of the WoW Private Servers category; How to set up a wow private server using AC-web's ultimate repack 8.0 And making it public... Edit: Ok, to ...

Page 1 of 20 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 191
  1. #1
    Serverman's Avatar
    Serverman is offline Paranoia!

    Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3,449
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Reputation
    1301

    How to set up a wow private server and making it public

    How to set up a wow private server using AC-web's ultimate repack 8.0
    And making it public...

    Edit:
    Ok, to make this clear, since everyone seems to miss it, and fail to read the posts in this thread:
    This repack is for 3.0.8
    Also:
    I am not going to help you with patching down

    Any posts asking how to patch down will be deleted from now on, and i will not help you with other questions.




    Hello, welcome to my guide (Written entirely by me, Serverman from d3scene.com, please dont go ripping of things without crediting )

    Introduction

    This should not be too hard if you know something about port forwarding, or if you are willing to learn one or two things...

    Things you are going to need
    First and foremost, try solving this in your head 2+2...
    You got 4?
    If yes, then good job, we may proceed, you got a brain
    If no, then please leave ^^
    Download details: .NET Framework 3.5
    AC Web - Downloads - AC Web Ultimate Repack 8.0
    Step 1:
    We need the Framework... I am assuming that you already have this installed, or at least that you know how to follow simple guidelines given by this installer.
    Download it from here: Download details: .NET Framework 3.5
    Step 2:
    If you succeeded with this, then you will most likely succeed with the rest of this guide
    Ok, we need the repack (of course)
    AC Web - Downloads - AC Web Ultimate Repack 8.0

    Click on the big download button...

    Now go ahead and choose save...


    Step 3:
    Ok, that took some time? Naaah, i got fast internet...
    We need to install the server, so run the executable

    Obviously click install
    Note: Do not change the directory! It may/will cause errors... (i think...)
    Now you will have lots of text scrolling down your screen.... Go take some tea or whatever...
    Step 4:
    Now, heres the really boring step... Have you finished your tea? Good...
    Ok, just copy (or cut, dosent matter) Ad.exe and the "maps" folder to your wow directory.
    Now run ad.exe (of course)

    That is going to stand there for a loooong time... so go take youself some tea
    Step 5:
    You are probably gonna need some more tea...
    Step 6:
    By now (around 40 minutes) you should have emptied your tea reserve (sorry for that) so go and buy some more
    Anyways, if it has closed (as it should) (It just closes, no messages...)
    Now copy the map folder (Or cut to save space) to this directory:
    C:/AC Web Ultimate Repack/Arcemu/
    (that is the standard place anyways, you remember the one i told you not to change?)
    Step 7:
    You are almost done
    Run theese applications:
    /AC Web Ultimate Repack/Server/MySQL.bat
    /AC Web Ultimate Repack/Server/Apache.bat
    /AC Web Ultimate Repack/Ascent/arcemu-logonserver.exe
    /AC Web Ultimate Repack/Ascent/arcemu-world.exe
    Apache is only for the website, so its not really 100% needed
    Step 8:
    Login with accountname admin and password admin


    Note: If you ever need to login to the database for some reason, the user is root and password is ascent


    Now, for making it public (The hard part...)

    Step 1:
    We will need a DNS (Dynamic Name Server )
    Im gonna use DynDNS.com: DNS Hosting, E-mail Delivery, VPS Hosting and Other Services, but if you have another favorite, feel free to use it )
    Click Services

    Now click "Add Hostname"
    Note: The hostname you choose here is the address people will type in their realmlist, so make it cool, ya?
    Use theese settings:

    I usually click "Use auto detected IP address", but if you dont trust em go to What Is My IP Address? - IP Address Lookup, Internet Speed Test, IP Info, plus more and use that ip
    Note: At this point, i think its neccesary to state that: THIS IS YOUR DNS SERVER... Just so you know

    Step 2:
    Now, the normal guides would ask you to get pen and paper, if you are oldschool, then sure... Ill go ahead and open notepad.
    Now, note yourself the DNS server you made
    Then go to:
    Start-> Run -> cmd

    Now type in:
    ipconfig -all
    Then something like this should pop up:

    Note yourself:
    The Ip address (that is you Local ip)
    The default gateway (that is your routers IP address)

    Step 3:
    Go to: What Is My IP Address? - IP Address Lookup, Internet Speed Test, IP Info, plus more and write down the IP that is there (in big blue letters, im sure you can find it on your own )
    By now you should have noted down 4 Ip's:
    Your Routers ip..
    Your local IP
    Your DNS server
    And your external IP (The one from What Is My IP Address? - IP Address Lookup, Internet Speed Test, IP Info, plus more )
    Step 4:
    Now, in your address bar (the place you write d3scene.com) type in your routers ip (the one we found at default gateway, remember?)
    Now login... The usernames and passwords are likely one of theese combos:
    Admin Admin <----- This is the one it usually is
    Admin (none)
    (none) (none)
    (Admin) (password)
    Also there may be some less-used combos like:
    guest guest
    user user
    guest (none)
    user (none)
    Just try your luck.
    Step 5:
    Port forwarding... Its a pain... i know...
    Well, forward theese ports:

    my router accepts Ip-ranges... so i can write 6881-6999 Maybe your router is different...
    Well, you could try to go to PortForward.com - Free Help Setting up Your Router or Firewall and see if your router is listed there... Follow that guide if needed
    Step 6:
    The hosts file..
    Now go to:
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc
    There should be a file there called hosts.
    Open it in notepad and add theese lines to the end:

    Code:
    	127.0.0.1 yourservername.hostnameyouchose
    	Router IP yourservername.hostnameyouchose
    	External IP yourservername.hostnameyouchose
    Code:
    	So it should look something like this:
    	127.0.0.1 servermanstut.dnsdojo.com
    	192.168.1.2 servermanstut.dnsdojo.com
    	88.61.XX.XX servermanstut.dnsdojo.com
    * MAsked ip for security reasons *

    Save it and close notepad...
    Step 7:
    I'm tired >.< You are tired! Lets go get us some coffee
    Gah, tastes like crap, don't it?
    Anyways, you need to edit some configfiles...
    so go to the arcemu/configs folder.
    open up realms.conf
    Edit theese things:

    Code:
    <Realm1 Name = "AC Web Ultimate Repack"
    		Address = "DNSNAME:8129" 
    		Icon = "PVP"
    		Population = "1.0"
    		TimeZone = "1">
    Step 8:
    You should be done now
    set realmlist to your DNSNAME and you are finnish... no you are finished

    Step 9:
    Enjoy

    Disclaimer:
    Please dont rip this shit, i've used loong time on it, so i would appreciate it if you would at least credit me...
    Any questions? Post em here
    Btw, i made this last night, so if anything is wrong, correct me please
    Last edited by Serverman; 10-18-2009 at 11:24 AM.
    My car is not leaking oil?
    Its marking its territory!

  2. The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Serverman For This Useful Post:


  3. #2
    Sac
    Sac is offline Banned User Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    293
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    38
    nice guide serverman

  4. #3
    Serverman's Avatar
    Serverman is offline Paranoia!

    Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3,449
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Reputation
    1301
    Why, thank you Sac ^^ What happened to you? Thought you were at least elder?
    My car is not leaking oil?
    Its marking its territory!

  5. #4
    Sac
    Sac is offline Banned User Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    293
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    38
    no, not yet, but hoping to get it soon lol

  6. #5
    Serverman's Avatar
    Serverman is offline Paranoia!

    Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3,449
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Reputation
    1301
    lol, ok i just thought... yeah
    My car is not leaking oil?
    Its marking its territory!

  7. #6
    moksha33 is offline Newbie
    Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    0

    LOL ye

    Quote Originally Posted by Serverman View Post
    lol, ok i just thought... yeah
    ok when i do this it messes up on me and i get stuck at the IP in adress part because it doesnt pop up what it should if u can help thatd rock

  8. #7
    Sac
    Sac is offline Banned User Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    293
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    38
    you will need to elaborate a bit more on your issue in order for us to help you out I would think

  9. #8
    Serverman's Avatar
    Serverman is offline Paranoia!

    Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3,449
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Reputation
    1301
    Yeah, im afraid i dont understand what you mean...
    My car is not leaking oil?
    Its marking its territory!

  10. #9
    hichkasno is offline Newbie
    Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    0
    what pach needed for this repack ?3.0.8 or 9 ?

  11. #10
    Sac
    Sac is offline Banned User Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    293
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    38
    3.0.9.9551 is the patch it will run. I have a post on here as well just so you know whenever you get your server setup, I have the most up-to-date core compiles for everyone to use as they wish. Just look for it.

Page 1 of 20 12311 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Memoirs of World of Warcraft
    By Hallowsend in forum WoW forum
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 08-28-2013, 10:34 AM
  2. WoW Private Server guide
    By Sifex in forum WoW Private Servers
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-10-2011, 09:44 AM
  3. Advanced IRC Commands
    By Diesel in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-23-2009, 12:03 PM
  4. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 09-01-2007, 10:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •